Traffic Safety Resources
The Pennsylvania Point System
PennDOT maintains a driving record for every licensed driver in Pennsylvania. Points are added to a driving record when a driver is found guilty of certain driving (moving) violations.
The purpose of the point system is to help to improve driving habits and to ensure safe driving. PennDOT begins to take corrective action when a driving record reaches 6 or more points.
For more information on driver sanctions and license suspensions, please visit our Driver and Vehicle Services Website.
Click here for general information about the Pennsylvania Point System
Traffic Safety Laws
“Steer Clear” Law
The “Steer Clear” law, which went into effect in 2006, requires motorists to move over or slow down when they encounter an emergency scene, traffic stop or disabled vehicle. The law requires motorists to move to a lane that is not adjacent to the scene of an emergency response, police stop or a tow truck picking up an abandoned vehicle. If drivers cannot move over because of traffic or other conditions, they must reduce their speed.
The law applies any time an emergency vehicle has its lights flashing and where road crews or emergency personnel have lighted flares, posted signs or tried to warn motorists. Failure to move over or slow down can result in a summary offense that carries a fine of up to $250. In addition, fines will be doubled for traffic violations occurring in these areas. If that violation leads to a worker being injured, a 90-day license suspension could result.
In cases where law enforcement may not be present, the law allows road workers and emergency responders to report violations by motorists. Law enforcement can issue citations based on these reports.
Headlights and Wiper Law
As of January 2007, motorists must turn on their headlights anytime their vehicles´ wipers are in continuous or intermittent use due to weather or other atmospheric conditions such as fog or mist.
Motorists who do not comply with the law could face a fine of $25, but with fees and other associated costs, the penalty would approach $100.
Snow and Ice Law
PennDOT reminds motorists that under a new state law, they will face severe fines if snow or ice that falls from their vehicle causes injury or death to other motorists or pedestrians.
Enacted in May 2006, the law states that when snow or ice is dislodged or falls from a moving vehicle and strikes another vehicle or pedestrian causing death or serious bodily injury, the operator of the vehicle from which the snow or ice came is subject to a fine of $200 to $1,000 for each offense.