Share This Page
Traffic Safety Information Topics
Impaired Driving Publications
- The Myths of Impaired Driving (Powerpoint Presentation)
Courtesy of the Pennsylvania DUI Association841.92 K | 3/11/2014
PennDOT is reminding motorists to Just Drive - Safe and Sober. Listen to these public service announcements to hear common excuses for driving under the influence, and why there are no excuses to drive impaired.
- PennDot- Safe and Sober PSA 20151.15 Meg | 7/3/2015
- PennDot- Safe and Sound PSA#2 20151.15 Meg | 7/3/2015
One of the common misconceptions that impacts people when they are drinking is how much alcohol they are actually consuming. Whether it is a 12-ounce beer, a 5-ounce glass of wine, or a 1.5-oz shot, they each constitute one drink.
Blood Alcohol Calculator
To provide an estimate of the number of drinks that it would take a person to become impaired with a BAC of .08 or higher, please check out this Blood Alcohol Calculator on the PA DUI Association Website. The tool asks for the number and type of drinks consumed over what time period, as well as a person’s gender and weight. Please note that this is only an estimate and that a person’s actual BAC can be dependent on numerous other factors.
Cost of a DUIThe costs associated with an impaired driving arrest can vary greatly depending on several factors, including blood-alcohol content, location of arrest, and number of offenses. The effect on a driver’s wallet starts the moment they are stopped by police. Here are a few expenses associated with a DUI.
- Traffic fine: $300 - $10,000 depending on blood alcohol content and number of offenses
- Towing vehicle: $50 flat fee plus mileage
- Impound: $75 - $175 per day
- Legal fees: $2,000 - $8,000 or more
- Alcohol evaluation: $35 - $100
- Accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD): $100 - $1,800
- Education and treatment: $100 - $1,000 or more
- License restoration: $25 non-commercial, $75 commercial
- Insurance premium: increase of about $1,000 a year or cancellation of policy
Apart from the financial aspects of a DUI arrest, there may also be social ramifications. Court appearances, community service requirements or jail time lead to lost time and lost wages – possibly job loss. A DUI conviction can also impede attempts to get a job, and cause embarrassment to your family.
For more information, check out Pennsylvania’s DUI Law.
Underage DUI – Zero Tolerance
Pennsylvania´s Zero Tolerance Law carries serious consequences for those under 21 who are convicted of driving with any amount of alcohol in their blood. For example, those under 21 who are convicted of driving under the influence with a .02 blood alcohol content, or greater, face severe penalties, including a 12-to-18-month license suspension, 48 hours to six months in jail, and fines from $500 to $5,000.
A vehicle does not have to be involved in order for those under 21 to lose their driving privileges. It is against the law for an individual under the age of 21 to consume, possesses or transport alcohol, or lie about their age to obtain alcohol and carry a fake identification card. If convicted, the minimum penalties are a fine of up to $500, plus court costs; a 90-day license suspension for the first offense; a 1-year suspension for the second offense; and a 2-year suspension for the third and subsequent offenses.
Impaired Driving Enforcement in Pennsylvania
Although alcohol-related fatalities account for more than 30 percent of all traffic fatalities in Pennsylvania, impaired driving enforcement covers more than just alcohol impairment. Law enforcement also works to identify motorists impaired by drugs and prescription medication, or some combination of these.
Pennsylvania continues to enhance its drug-impaired enforcement by training officers in Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement and the Drug Recognition Expert programs.
There were 52,636 DUI arrests last year in Pennsylvania, a decrease from the 54,121 arrests made in 2013. The number of DUI-drug arrests continues to increase, with 20,691 charges for driving under the influence of an impairing drug filed last year. This is nearly a 10 percent increase over last year. PennDOT encourages you to always plan ahead by either designating a sober driver or arranging for alternate transportation.
Ignition Interlock System
In Pennsylvania, any person convicted of a second or subsequent offense of DUI is required to have an ignition interlock system installed on their vehicle for one year. These devices work by requiring the driver to blow into it before starting the vehicle. If the device detects alcohol, it will prevent the vehicle from starting. Ignition interlock devices will also prompt the driver to blow into the device at period times during the operation of the vehicle.
Thanks to these devices, more than 48, 457 impaired driving attempts were prevented last year.
For Frequently Asked Questions regarding ignition interlock, please click here.
- PennDot- Safe and Sound PSA#2 2015
- PennDot- Safe and Sober PSA 2015